Honoring Excellence in New Mexico Emergency Medical Services

The EMS Bureau is pleased to announce the call for 2024-2025 EMS Award Nominations.

All members of the EMS Community are urged to consider potential candidates. Please review the following categories and submit your nominations for consideration. This is your chance to recognize someone outstanding in your agency and profession. ANY INDIVIDUAL MAY SUBMIT NOMINATIONS.

Please indicate clearly the category for which the nomination is being made. No more than three typewritten pages of background narrative and documentation should be provided to support your nomination. Nominations and supporting documentation become the property of the EMS Bureau and will not be returned.

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT OF NOMINATIONS IS August 29, 2025 Awards to be awarded at the New Mexico Fire & EMS Expo in Socorro NM October 11th, 2025

GOVERNORS AWARD honors an individual who has made an outstanding <u>lifelong</u> contribution to the statewide EMS system. Individuals eligible to receive this award include New Mexico EMTs and EMDs, system administrators, physicians, nurses, local officials, etc. To nominate, describe the nominee's individual contributions, achievements, role in EMS and why he/she is deserving of the honor.

ROBERT SABIN AWARD honors a person whose dedicated and long-term service has made a significant contribution to EMS locally, regionally and /or statewide. To nominate, describe the nominee's individual contributions, achievements, role in EMS and why he/she is deserving of the honor.

PROVIDER OF THE YEAR AWARD honors a First Responder, EMT – B, EMT – I, or EMT – P for exemplary patient care and dedication to their community and profession. Individuals eligible to receive this award include any NM licensed caregiver. Please describe the nominee's qualities and contributions to the local EMS service or system. Letters of support from fellow caregivers, other local agencies, the medical director, etc. will be weighed heavily. If enough nominations are received, this category could be broken down further, where potentially a person from each level could be recognized.

EMD OF THE YEAR honors a licensed Emergency Medical Dispatcher (EMD) who is exemplary in his/her quality of pre-arrival medical instructions. Individuals eligible to receive this award include any NM licensed EMD or EMD-Instructor working with an EMD agency. Please describe the nominee's qualities and contributions to the local EMS/EMD service or system. Letters of support from fellow EMDs, EMTs, service and medical directors, local officials, etc., will be weighed heavily.

RUSS RICHARDS INSTRUCTOR COORDINATOR (I/C) AWARD honors an EMS – I/C who excels as an educator and/or has made significant contributions to the EMS educational system in New Mexico. Any I/C currently affiliated with an approved NM EMS educational institution is eligible. Please describe the nominee's specific background and achievements, which delineate why the I/C nominee is deserving of this honor.

TIM FLEMING MEDICAL DIRECTOR AWARD honors a physician who serves or has served the EMS system through meritoriously executing their duties as an EMS Medical Director., including system development, continuing education, quality assurance, medical community liaison, etc. Any current or past EMS Medical Director is eligible to receive this award. Please describe the contributions of the nominee that illustrate the reasons for the nomination.

JON TIBBETS LEADERSHIP AWARD honors an individual in a leadership position (Director, Chief, EMS Officer, etc.) who exemplifies the highest qualities of management in EMS system such as system development, policy, customer service, training, etc. To nominate, describe the nominee's leadership and management contributions to their EMS system.

EMS AGENCY of the YEAR AWARD honors an EMS agency that has distinguished itself with extraordinary service to its community.

2025 EMS AWARDS NOMINATION APPLICATION

O Russ Richards EMS I/C

THIS NOMINATION IS FOR:

O Governor's Award

	Award EMS
O Robert Sabin Award	O Tim Fleming Medical Director Award
O Provider of the Year Award	O Jon Tibbets Leadership Award
O EMD of the Year Award	O Agency of the Year Award

Nominee:
Address:
City, State, Zip:
Best Contact Phone Number:
Name of Nominator:
Address:
City, State, Zip:
Best Contact Phone Number:

DUE DATE IS August 29th 2025

Nominations should not have more than 2 typewritten pages of background information. You may also include documentation of examples. This form should be attached to all nominations.

Electronic submissions are encouraged, with scanned copies of documentation and support letters. Please email these to KyleL.Thornton@state.nm.us.

Hard copy nominations are also welcome. Please mail to

Emergency Medical Systems Bureau Attention Kyle Thornton and/or Jacob Bennett 1301 Siler Road; Bldg. F Santa Fe, NM 87507

If you have any questions, please call the EMS Bureau at (505) 476-8200.